WVAHPERD (SHAPEWV) works with the prestigious professional organizations, SHAPE America its SHAPE Midwest District. Within this organization we have been honored to work with national and state teachers of the year, higher education faculty whom have been featured on the world stage for their research and dedication to physical activity and health and some of the state's most dedicated educators.  Each year, we are proud to honor those individuals that have excelled within our profession. Many state level awards provide winners the opportunity to apply for the SHAPE Midwest and SHAPE America Honors & Awards.


Submit Honor Award Nominations Here
Submit Teacher of the Year Awards Here


2019 Honor Award Recipients

Award winners pictured above from left to right:

Honor Award:  Annie Machamer

Mentorship Award: Sean Bulger

Recreation & Leadership Award:  John McGowan

Young Professional Award:  James Wyant


2019 Teacher of the Year (TOY) Award Recipients


 Award winners pictured above from left to right:  

Elementary Physical Education TOY:  Ryan Wamsley

Health Education TOY: Sara Ballengee


2019 Dance Educator of the Year, President's Award

 Jill Warren, West Liberty University



2019 - 2020 National Recognition

SHAPE America Mentor of the Year

Eloise Elliott, West Virginia University


Midwest District Young Professional &

SHAPE America Mabel Lee Award Winner 

 Ashley Doty, McNinch Primary School, Marshall County